Translate Close
School Logo

Kingshurst Primary School

EYFS Curriculum

Overview of the Early Years Foundation Stage


To implement our EYFS curriculum we begin each new year by looking at the individual needs of our children and take into account their different starting points to develop our flexible curriculum which enables them to follow the path of their learning journey, at a point, that is suitable for their unique needs and stage of development.


The EYFS framework includes 7 areas of learning and development that are equally important and inter-connected. However, 3 areas known as the prime areas are seen as particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The prime areas are:

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development


The prime areas are strengthened and applied through 4 specific areas:




Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design


Interlinked with these subject areas are the children’s characteristics of learning which we support and help develop by providing children with opportunities to initiate ideas and activities so that they can develop the learning characteristics which are assessed by the EYFS profile. The following characteristics also support lifelong learning:



• Are willing to have a go

• Are involved and concentrating

• Have their own ideas

• Choose ways to do things

• Find new ways of doing things / problem solving

• Enjoy achieving what they set out to do

'Creating a calm and positive atmosphere where everyone feels valued and respected'

Staff Login

Website Visits

2 2 5 9 1
School Logo