Translate Close
School Logo

Kingshurst Primary School

Reception Parent Curriculum Guidance


Our Reception classes follow the EYFS Statutory Framework for Learning and Development. There are seven areas of learning and development that shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.


Three areas are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving.


The Prime Areas:-

  • Communication and Language (CaL)

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

  • Physical Development (PD)


Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:


The Specific Areas:-

  • Literacy (LD)

  • Mathematics (MD)

  • Understanding the World (UW)

  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

Educational programmes must involve activities and experiences for children, as set out under each of the areas of learning. Please click on each area of learning to find out more. 

Please see further information about the Early Years Foundation Stage in our parent section on the link below

'Creating a calm and positive atmosphere where everyone feels valued and respected'

Staff Login

Website Visits

8 0 4 5 6
School Logo